Painting Over a Tile Backsplash

Don’t judge me.

I’m on a budget.

i jumped in head-first and just did it – I painted my kitchen backsplash!!! (resounding gasps from kitchen-design-gurus everywhere!!)

Wait! It’s okay! It didn’t turn out as bad as you might expect.

In fact, I got the idea a couple of years ago when I was looking for a cheap, easy solution for the backsplash in our current home.
I got it off HGTV.com! No joke! They now have a video that shows a great before/after. Awesome transformation.

Unlike the couple in the video, I wanted to get rid of the grey/mauve tiles and go all white!

These pictures inspired my look:

What I liked in these pictures was the openness and brightness of the rooms.

So instead of emptying my pocketbook on white subway tiles, I spent about $30 on paint, a little elbow grease, and it was painted!

*I’m done! See the final look here!*

Painted backsplash

3 comments
  1. Brooks said:

    What kind of paint did you use? I am in the market to do the same thing, also with white.

    Thank you!!

    • sorry for the late reply. I used Behr (paint & primer in one) from Home Depot.
      After 3 years, it is starting to chip a little in areas – something to be mindful of :) not a long-term solution :)

Leave a Reply

