Swiss Chard Pasta

Today’s basket of goodies from Urban Acres included some gorgeous swiss chard in a rainbow of colors.

I hate to admit it, but I have never had swiss chard before today. I love leafy greens, but I didn’t grow up eating swiss chard, so I never think about it at the grocery store. But I will definitely be eating it more in the future!

Since I didn’t have a go-to recipe, I quickly searched for one online. I found a recipe for Bacon and Swiss Chard Pasta. I didn’t have all the ingredients, but I had variations of all of them. Here is my version. Seriously the best pasta recipe I have ever made! So yummy and healthy too! and easy!

Turkey Bacon and Swiss Chard Spaghetti
(serves 6)
1 pound spaghetti
12 ounces turkey bacon, cut crosswise into 1/2-inch slices
1/2 large white onion, halved, sliced
2 large bunches Swiss chard, stemmed, chopped (about 12 cups) – It seems like a lot, but it cooks down to a quarter of it’s starting volume
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, extra 2 tsp or so for sauteing.
2/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Cook spaghetti in large pot of boiling salted water until tender but still firm to bite, stirring occasionally. Drain, reserving 1 cup pasta cooking liquid.

Meanwhile, add a splash of olive oil and turkey bacon to a heavy large pot over medium heat. Since turkey bacon does not have a lot of fat, the olive oil helps to brown it and also keeps it from burning. Transfer turkey bacon to small dish once you have browned it.

Add onion to the pot in which you cooked the bacon. If the onions begin to burn or stick, you can add more olive oil or pasta water, a splash at a time. Saute the onions over medium-high heat until softened, about 7 minutes. Add Swiss chard and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Add pasta cooking liquid to skillet. Toss until chard is wilted and tender, about 4 minutes. Sprinkle vinegar over; cook 1 minute.
Add spaghetti and oil to sauce in pot and toss to coat. Transfer to large bowl. Sprinkle with bacon and cheese. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Enjoy!

2 comments
  1. Well, until about a week ago, I too had never had swiss chard. I wasn’t raised on greens. But I’ve been trying to try new fruits and veggies every week, so I bought a HUGE bunch of rainbow chard. Ridge told me I needed to get my plant out of the fridge because it was taking up to much space! Anyways, I sauteed it and tried to it by itself and also mixed in a quiche. Not a fan of either choice. Maybe I’ll try it again later…

Leave a Reply

