Thrifting Tuesdays – beginnings

I became a thrift shopper not by choice.

I am one of 9 children born to Romanian immigrants.  Growing up, we shared almost everything. If my oldest sister got new shoes, I would know that in 2-3 years they would be mine, all mine!

My earliest memories of thrift store shopping were around the age of 9 or 10.  My mother would take us and we would get clothes, but she would also let us buy tons of books.  I remember us buying Trixie Belden books, Nancy Drew mysteries, The Boxcar Children books, and old Reader’s Digests.  I don’t think my mom ever looked at those Reader’s Digests, because I remember reading some pretty mature stuff at that age!

It wasn’t until I was 14 or 15 that my love for old leather and fur coats began.  I remember going to thrift stores and gunning it for the coat section to see what I could find.  At one time, my sisters and I owned several leather coats and at least 3 wool coats with fur-trimmed collars.   I even took my senior portraits in one of my favorite coats.  Too bad no one told me it looked like skunk fur!

skunk fur, right?!

Equally exciting as coats was sifting through the dress section.  It would be quick work, because I always had my eye out of those bright, bold polyester patterns of the 60’s and 70’s.

and this little peach wonder, why did I get rid of this one?! It twirled so nicely!

6 comments
  1. Bobi said:

    I have to say I love love love that pink dress on you and I totally remember you guys had a few different leather coats, never knew they were a thrift store find. I remember buying lots of books at the thrift store when I was younger. Now I like to go looking for furniture at thrift stores. It’s so much fun finding pieces that I can restore and reuse. My dresser in my bedroom is one of my favorite finds from a Salvation Army store.

    • I still haven’t refinished any furniture yet, but I hope to soon!

  2. tabitha said:

    oh wow, this post brings back SO MANY memories! i don’t look back on thrift store shopping quite as fondly, especially when i was younger and didn’t understand how awesome they were. i remember being embarrased, but at the same time, so very excited about the Trixie Belden books especially. what ever happened to those??

    you definitley always had an eye and knack for the great fashion finds! i remember all the neon polyester, but i don’t remember the fur laced coat – love that picture!

    now, i LOVE thrift store/goodwill/salvation army shopping – oh, and consignment store shoppig with you – we WILL repeat that in 2012 in dallas – mark my words! :)

    • i’ll hold you to that! We have the best consignment shopping here!

  3. You are just too cute! I am glad that I got to go thrift store shopping with you at least once. Remember the Christmas rat! the thrift stores here are not a patch on the ones Stateside.

    • oh sarah, the Christmas rat will always be the best find!

Leave a Reply

