Birthday Blues Beast! A refashioned thrifted dress

I just turned 30.
And I had a little bit of the blues..

As blue as this dress!

So, on my birthday, I resolved that I would take a good chunk of time to do what I really enjoy doing, crafting & sewing!
Luckily, Hilldale baby took a 3 hour nap and I worked on this beast..

When I saw this treasure at a local thrift store, I knew I could rescue it.

Some treasures just need a little TLC and polishing… as was the case with this blue beast.

I have never done this before, but figured I would try it on a $5.00 thrifting find… and if I bombed, no big loss!

Luckily it turned out good, almost great!

Frumpy, dumpy thrifted polyester beast…..

turned into bright,blue beauty…

DIY: refashion a dress into a skirt, my (non-scientific, not-by-the-book) method

9 comments
  1. Naomi C. said:

    Have you ever seen the website: http://www.newdressaday.com/

    Check it out. It started as a project where she only bought thrift store clothes for a year and refashioned them. She still does it but more weekly now. It’s great for getting ideas to refashion items that are outdated, large or for dying them a different color. You’d love it, I’m sure.

    • Yes, I love her website! I’m not nearly as bold or daring as she is… yet!

  2. Bobi said:

    omg… lyg! that is one awesome repurposed thrifted find. love what you did with that dress. the top and shoes really compliment the skirt too. looking good girl.

  3. I love what you’ve done! Makes me wish I had sewing skills (I currently have none). Well done!

    • Hi, the link is on right hand side of the blog, not in the post :) still trying to figure out this blogging/linking stuff :)

Leave a Reply

