Yogurt cheese please!

See this collection of cookbooks?

Most of the time they are ignored, unappreciated, used as eye-candy on my hutch…

But every now and then I remember they exist, and I will read one… like a novel, seriously, start to finish… my eyes glazing over when I get to the end (hello dessert section!!)…

This particular day I was reading one of my favs “mediterranean: food of the sun” by Jacqueline Clark and Joanna Farrow.

And on the front it has this description:

… a culinary tour of sun-drenched shores with evocative dishes from southern Europe” GAH!!! drooooool…. yes, I do want to go on this culinary tour with you Jacqueline & Joanna!

And I have done just that many times!  I have read this cookbook start to finish at least 10 times… and I have only made one recipe from it.. shame…

But it was a perfect storm (extra time and all ingredients on hand)  that inspired me to make one of their appetizers…

If you are even the tiny-est bit interested in cheese,  this one’s gonna make you weak in the knees!

Yogurt Cheese:

The process starts with drying out your yogurt for 2-3 days in cheesecloth… I used non-fat plain yogurt for my first batch….
I think Greek yogurt will work better because it has a lower water content and will give you more cheese…

Then you roll the cheese into balls…. and place in sterilized jars (I used a jelly jar) along with rosemary, thyme, red pepper flakes and garlic- flavored olive oil.

Isn't it a sight?!

Then you spread on bread..

drizzle extra olive oil and watch it slowly drip onto the bread………. oh my……

take a BIG bite! creamy, tangy, garlicky… ohhhh

Have for breakfast, lunch and dinner! (do not let hubby know about this… blame the half-empty jar on cheese-loving baby)
p.s. would also make GREAT gifts for hostess or friends.. or heck, the cheese alone is an occasion!

…here’s a peek at the recipe….

Inside this beautiful cookbook

Aren't the pictures fabulous?!

5 comments
  1. ohh my goodness this is ridiculous Lyg. How the heck am I supposed to be faithful to my diet with a post like this??? I am literally salivating out of control – cheese on bread??? Does it get any more simple or delicious… add a piece of tomato and it’s a pure heavenly delight.

  2. Wow, looks amazing. I use kefir at home. I’m going to try this with kefir. Thanks for the post. Stop by and visit me sometime.

  3. Love the idea of putting it in oil. I make labneh in a similar way. Will definitely try making this one time.

    • I have to admit i ate most of the jar myself… and plan on using the leftover herb oil to saute veggies or make a pasta sauce…

Leave a Reply

