Fresh Front Door – Part 1

I love my house.

I hate my front door!

Not the door itself, the color! ick! What would you call this? murky denim? Rainy Day blue?

Whatever it is, it’s got to go!

It does nothing for the curb appeal… makes you feel like you’re walking towards a dark dungeon… ok, maybe a little dramatic..

aaaand I’ve been griping about all of this since we moved in almost a year ago.

But now that I have given up TV for Lent, I have a surprising amount of “free” time on my hands.

See ya later Rainy Day blue!

1. Tape off door and around door.

2. Prime the door. I used a fast drying Kilz primer.

3. Make the baby his own sidewalk chalk paint so you can have 15min of uninterrupted painting time.

4. Let primer dry.

5. Remember you are also unhappy with the house numbers. Too dark, can’t see them from street. Go to garage, find spray paint.

6. Spend 20min ripping tape in itty-bitty pieces to mask off areas you didn’t want painted.

7. Create cardboard tunnel/shield to keep the spray paint directed at numbers.

8. Spray coat of primer. Wait 1 hour, then spray Silver spray.

9. Peel off paint right away! (not recommended, but I’m a very impatient person!)

10. Fall in love with new house numbers… :)

p.s. this is what the door currently looks like, primed… now to make color decisions..I hope this doesn’t take another year

7 comments
  1. You better get it done before the end of Lent – you will have lots of tv to catch up on ;)

    • Well, hopefully by then , all the story lines i was following will be completed, and I won’t care anymore… that’s the theory… I have to admit, it’s been very freeing!

  2. Can’t wait to see what color you choose. And love how visible the house numbers are now!

    • the door is painted! But i’m going to wait until I trim the bushes to take pics.

  3. tabitha said:

    as i was reading thru this blog post, i couldn’t wait to see the final product… so you can imagine how disappointed i was to get to the very end and be left hanging! no fair. :(

    hurry up and choose a color…

  4. Deborah said:

    Dear Lygia,

    I really enjoy your blog; just so funny, and so diversified! Grâce à toi j’apprends des techniques de bricolage, de couture, et je ris beaucoup en lisant tes commentaires. Quelle maman active! Luke a bien grandit et je vois que tu le fais déja participer aux travaux de la maison :-)
    Moi, je l’aimais bien ce bleu pétrole (très à la mode en france cette année ;-).
    Le numéro de la maison est tout simplement magnifique!

    A bientôt j’espère, grosses bises à vous trois
    Deborah

    • Hello Deborah!

      I’m so glad you found my blog!
      It is official, my blog has now gone international! ;-)
      Thank you for all the kind words and compliments, you are too generous!
      I am having a lot of fun writing the blog and taking care of the boys and this house :)
      I also really enjoy seeing your blog and how your children are growing, you have a very beautiful family!
      We hope to be able to come to Marsaille sometime in the next few years… and maybe you can do a “Frenchman” training for us?! Maybe it could include the proper way to make yogurt, chevre, and a proper cafe (not american!) ;-)
      A bientôt j’espère, grosses bises à vous quatre
      Lygia

Leave a Reply

