An unfinished house

We officially moved into this house on April 16th last year.

I can’t believe it has almost been a year!

Well, I’m sad to say, that besides painting, some craigslist furniture and some minor DIY projects, the house is still mostly unfinished. :(

So in honor of hilldale house’s 1st birthday, I resolve to finish decorating one room!

Nothing gets this procrastinator going like a deadline!

And I choose the Living Room!
Why?
1. It’s the first room you see when you walk into our front door.
2. I actually have an idea of what I want to do with most of the room.
3. The room is 85% painted (minus cabinet doors and bar doors).
4. The LV is furnished, so I won’t have to make any major purchases.

So, I’ve put up a countdown ticker on my homepage to remind myself this is for real! I’m nervous, anxious, but also very excited that I will finally have 1 room of the house decorated!

This is what the LV looks like in its current state…

This is the view when you first walk in (dark due to so much light from windows)

I moved to the right to take this pic, less glare.. baby wanted in on the fun, so he ran around the table :)

Standing in front of windows

Views from the kitchen

This corner is the big conundrum! Have NO idea what to do with it… Any suggestions??!! What would you do with it?

View from the fireplace

Standing to the left of the Window wall

Now that I’ve looked at all the pictures again, I’m freaking out!
Gotta go get started!

15 comments
  1. I think that random corner needs a big house plant, with those jumbo leaves, like mom used to have in our house. Or any greenery really. It helps brighten up the room. And maybe something on the wall, a more thin but tall art piece. Just an idea.

    • I love the idea of a houseplant!! never thought of that, thanks nomers!

  2. Nathan Milas said:

    I think it needs a painting by the late great Nathan Milas ;)

    • yes please!!!!!!!!!!!!! the “late”? facebook or email and let’s get this ball rolling!

  3. Tabitha said:

    If anyone can do it, you can!! Plus you have all that free time now that you’re not watching tv…excited to see what you do with it! :)

    • lol, all the “free” time has been replaced with internet/crafting time… hee hee…

  4. looking forward to seeing what you do with the room which by the way already looks amazing you just need a few finishing touches.

  5. Hey!!! Your house is beautiful. I vote for adding a bit more to that corner. A grand piano would fit beautifully there :). A second option is a tall bookshelf, a floor lamp, a wingback chair (in an awesome updated trendy fabric or color), and a container with umbrellas or a basket filled with throws tucked in, too. And a plant! I’m going to add a post of pictures I found inspiring (for your corner) on my blogpage. Wish I could add them here. Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

    • Thanks monica!! I think i just need to give up on the large brown cabinet and start fresh… love your ideas too :) ps. I tried to comment on other blog posts, but your blog or blogger was acting up and i was denied :(

      • hmmm. weird!

        I think the brown cabinet would work! just add some thing (maybe a vertical column of pictures or prints) to that other wall, a floor lamp in the corner and a chair or bench in front. can’t wait to see the finished living room! you now have us all waiting to see what happens…. pressure… pressure :)

Leave a Reply

