Who’s bright idea was this?

No turning back now!

Remember this chair I bought off craigslist?

Well, this is what it really looked like close up:

Streaky paint job with some of it flaking off.

The caning is torn on the side, and when it was painted, some of the caning "holes" were filled in with paint.

Aaaaand, this is what it looks like now:

Yup! I took it down to it’s bones..
Still not sure what I want to do with it completely… It does need to be repainted, but what color? and what will replace the caning?
Time to start making some decisions…
What would you do with it?

9 comments
  1. What a cool find! I am assuming the structure is wood? If yes, I would probably strip the paint and then stain it a darker color. And then make a cushioned seat out of a fun fabric. The possibilities seem endless with that chair! :)

    • iimpp said:

      I think the same :) If it was me, I would paint it red or any vivid color (note: vivid) that suits the room and use some cloths for the caning, maybe decorate it a little with pins or brass on velvet to give some antique air. Leather is a good choice also; it’s easy to clean and durable.

      • ooh, i like your idea of leather! and I’m still trying to decide what color(s) to use in the room… but I agree, if there will be color, it will be vivid!!

    • i think they were originally a dark espresso brown…there’s still fighting between the Go-Neutral angel on my right shoulder and the Go-Color Crazy devil on my left shoulder… did i mention I hate making decisions?! ;)

  2. Danavee said:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today! Love this chair!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

