Thrifting Tuesdays – Belated Birthday

We have now had 12+ hours of non-stop rain and thunderstorms. It’s dark, dreary and wet outside.
The perfect antidote: bright, happy thrifted clothes :)

Remember when I bought these for my sister’s birthday?

Well I am sad embarrassed to say that I am just now (1 month late) sending them to her… (sorry Nomers!)

I went ahead and tried them on… just to give her an idea of what I did with them.

Can’t wait to see how she wears them!

#1
BEFORE:

kinda frumpy, but I loved the bold stripes!

AFTER:
I hemmed the skirt, did nothing to the shirt.

SHIRT thrifted/ JEANS refashioned/ SHOES thrifted/ NECKLACE thrifted

SKIRT thrifted/ TOP thrifted/ SHOES BurlingtonCoatFactory/ NECKLACE WRCA RanchRodeoTradeShow

And you can even wear them together now!

hubs even took a break from his prison snack (rice cake & water!) to show appreciation for this one ;)

#2
BEFORE: (house slippers and compression stockings?! yes indeed, you now know my deepest, darkest secret :)

AFTER:
I hemmed the skirt, ripped off the collar and used grey bias tape in its place.

DRESS thrifted/ BELT TheLimited/ SHOES $9.99shoestore

too old-timey schoolmarm for you?

Get rid of the bun, grab some modern accessories, your highest chunkiest heels and roll up those sleeves!
Voila! Modern SchoolMarm!

Decent enough to wear to church or to instruct young minds, but still hip enough to hang out with and not embarrass your 20-something friends

#3
BEFORE:
I rarely buy pink, but the pattern was so lovely!

Kept it simple, letting the shirt shine!

and since this one’s for the birds, aren’t these cute? they came in a 3 pk for $4.99 at Target!

Happy Birthday Nomers!! I hope you enjoy them!! Love you!

8 comments
  1. Love what you’ve done with the dress and the bird pattern on the blouse is just gorgeous.

    • thank you! i just spoke to my sister and she loves them too :)

  2. tabitha said:

    wow, i can’t decide which one i love more; they’re all awesome and nomers is one lucky girl!!

    absolutely love the pink shirt and cute earrings – guess there’s a target trip in my near future. :)

    wasn’t sure about the red dress until i saw the second result…and i love it! i definitely think that dress needs a wide belt.

    and the first dress…love the pattern and the way it looks as a shirt!

    once again, you’ve outdone yourself…keep it going, sister!

  3. You made those pieces look really good! And I can hardly believe you found them at a thriftstore, I wish the thriftstores around me carried cool pieces like that! You should consider selling some of the outfits you create or even shopping for thrift store pieces and selling those as they are, seriously :)

  4. Naomi C. said:

    Coming from the birthday girl, I love the pieces. That being said, the red dress is getting the sleeves chopped off. The long sleeve is a bit much. Everything else is great. I’m wearing the striped shirt today and the bird one as well as the striped outfit will make many appearances this summer. They are so light and airy, perfect for the Chicago humidity. Thanks Lyg!! Even if late. And I think I need to head to Target for the matching bird earrings.

Leave a Reply

