Someone’s getting a Facelift!

She REALLY needs it. For being born in ’86, she’s already a sad, dingy creature.

No, I’m not being a mean girl.

She’s my master bath.

The time has come!

We started demolition today!

And as much as I wish we could DIY, this is WAY over our abilities and time constraints. Unfortunately, for a bathroom the size of ours, even an upgrade can get pricey very quickly, especially here in the big city where labor costs tend to be higher.
But because of some water damage and mold, we knew it would eventually need to be done.

We finally decided it was now or never – before we welcome baby 2.0. Because I hear children have a way of making your money disappear. Just a rumor going around town.

Here she is in all her mauvey 80’s glory! I’m sure at one time she was a dazzling diva, but those days are long gone.

Separate his/hers entrances:

His side – what do you think about that wallpaper?!

Wait, there’s another layer of fabulous-ness underneath!

Her side – I get the mauve acrylic tub and the carpet… that gets wet…

The shared shower that can be accessed through both sides: note all the shades of mauve.. but the skylight and the tall ceiling are probably my favorite features in the entire house!

So, you’re probably thinking, it’s not that bad!

Let me take you in a little closer….

Chipped tile, water damaged baseboard and sheetrock

Water-logged baseboards (who knows what lies beneath!)

Nasty sinks with black stuff(mold?) growing around the drain

Acrylic tub that is falling apart

Old, peeling, rusty showerheads

And the worst offenders of the whole lot – mauve toilets that leak :(
(p.s. if you call me at home in the future, I might be answering it from my new toilet phone… I mean, we’ve already got the wiring for it next to the toilet ;-)

Can’t wait to post a ton of before/afters!

Oh, and some of these pictures were taken just before our closing over 1 year ago…and I was walking around taking pictures while carrying this chunky monkey… I miss his baby-ness :(

1 comment

Leave a Reply

